Third seat filled in BJD

Sunday, 26th May, 2019 1:17pm

Third seat filled in BJD

TP O_Reilly _FG_ elected on second count.jpg

Ballyjamesduff Municipal District second count results are in and the transfer of Trevor Smith's (FG) surplus has nudged party colleague, TP O'Reilly (FG), over the line.

The Virginia man is the third past the post in the MD after receiving 59 transfers of the 215 distributed votes. O'Reilly joins Smith and Shane P O'Reilly (FF) as a member of the Ballyjamesduff MD for the coming term.

The counting staff now move on to Shane P O'Reilly's surplus of 92 votes. The nearest to the quota of 1,611 is Winston Bennett who sits on 1,527, just 82 votes shy of being elected. Down in the basement Geraldine Harten sits on 478 votes having picked up nine of the votes. The biggest beneficiary of TP Smith's extra votes was FF's Craig Lovett who snapped up 66 of the distribution.


Gráinne McPhilips now sits on 778, leaving her 30 votes behind Noel Connell. Connell has to make up 513 votes to catch the next nearest runner. Philip Brady will be hoping to pick up a chunk of Shane P's 92 votes to widen that gap.


Though less of a blood sport than the other two MD's there may still be a couple of twists in this road before it reaches its destination.


The count staff re-commenced the sorting of the papers this morning at 10am and will continue throughout the day.


The numbers after the second count are:


Electorate 20,222

Total Poll 11,475

Spoiled Votes 204

Total Valid Pole 11,271

Quota 1,611


Bennett, Winston: 1,527


Brady, 'The Gunner' Philip: 1,339


Connell, Noel: 826


Geraldine Harten: 478


Lovett, Craig: 1,356


McPhilips, Gráinne: 796


O'Reilly, Shane: Elected


O'Reilly, TP: 1,1576


Smith, Trevor: Elected


To keep up to date with count results over the weekend, log on to our election blog:

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus