Senior garda appointments in Cavan

New superintendent for Cavan Town

Two new senior gardaí have been assigned to posts in Cavan Town.

Superintendent Pádraig Jones will transfer from Garda HQ in the Phoenix Park, Dublin to Cavan in place of the recently retired Superintendent James Coen.

A native of Dromard in Longford, he previously served as an Inspector in the Roscommon-Longford Garda division, stationed in Longford.

Inspector Adrian Durcan, a native of Donegal, is also set to be transferred and take up a new role in Cavan.

A former Detective Sergeant in Monaghan dealing with serious crime, he had been stationed in Monaghan previously.

The new appointments follow a number of recent key changes locally, following the retirement of Supt Coen earlier this month after serving 40 years in the force, and before that Chief Superintendent for the Cavan-Monaghan Division, John O'Reilly.

A spokesperson for An Garda Siochana confirmed the appointments to The Anglo-Celt.

The movement of senior personnel is partially the result of recent promotions and consequential allocations.

Superintendent John O’Flaherty has been assigned to the Cavan/Monaghan Division, and shall be allocated to detective duties. He will be based out of Monaghan Station.

Only last year Supt O’Flaherty was elevated to the role of Garda National Protective Services Bureau, having previously served as Station Inspector in Drogheda where he was involved in overseeing the investigation of several serious gangland incidents in the Louth town.

Superintendent James O’Leary, formerly of Cavan Town and Monaghan, has been appointed to North Western Region HQ, Galway Division, and allocated to detective duties.

Supt O'Leary moved to the Ardee District in Louth last year, after the elevation of Supt Pat O’Connell in place of the retiring Noel Cunningham.

Superintendent Gareth Walsh meanwhile has been appointed to overseen the Carrickmacross Garda District in Monaghan, with Superintendent Dermot Drea moving to the Navan Garda District in Meath.

In the newly formed North Western Region, which includes Cavan and Monaghan, the Regional Headquarters Murrough, Co Galway, while a Regional Chief Superintendent will be headquartered in Monaghan.

More from this Topic