Cavan hospitality heroes celebrated at Ulster awards

Awards took place at Hillgrove Hotel in Monaghan, Tuesday, March 21.

Cavan restaurants, hospitality business owners and their staff were celebrated at the Ulster Regional Final of Irish Restaurant Awards 2023.

The prestigious event took place in the Hillgrove Hotel in Monaghan yesterday (Tuesday, March 21).

Food outlets were nominated under the categories. They included ‘Local Food Hero’, ‘Best Sustainable Practices’, ‘Best Free From’, ‘Best Emerging Irish Cuisine’, ‘Best Restaurant Manager’, ‘Best Wine Experience’, ‘Best Café’, ‘Best World Cuisine’.

There were also awards for ‘Best Newcomer’, ‘Pub of the Year’, ‘Best Casual Dining’, ‘Best Hotel & Guesthouse Restaurant’, ‘Best Customer Service’, ‘Best Gastropub’, ‘Best Chef’, and ‘Best Restaurant’.

The 2023 awards also had a new category for ‘Innovator of the Year’.

All of the county winners now compete for the Regional and All Ireland Titles, to be announced at the Irish Restaurant Awards All Ireland Final on Monday, May 15, in Dublin’s Clayton Hotel.

Local Food Hero Sponsored by The Irish Times

•Antrim – Phil Ervine, Taste and Tour

•Armagh – John & Sarah Murray, Embers

Cavan – Imelda Mullen, The Cottage Market

•Derry – Kevin Pyke, Pykes “N” Pommes

•Donegal – Chris Molloy, The Lemon Tree

•Down – Peter Hannan, Hannan Meats

•Fermanagh – Marty McAdam, The Street Kitchen Enniskillen

•Tyrone – Colin McMenamin, The Red Pepper

•Monaghan – Karl Breen, Wild Thyme Restaurant

Best Sustainable Practices Sponsored by Gas Networks Ireland

•Antrim – Academy Restaurant, Ulster University

•Armagh – Killeavy Castle Estate

•Cavan – Cabra Castle Hotel

•Derry – The City Hotel Derry

•Donegal – Rathmullan House

•Down – Slieve Donard Hotel

•Fermanagh – Manor House Country Hotel

•Tyrone – Corick House Hotel & Spa

•Monaghan – The Hillgrove Hotel

Innovator of the Year Sponsored by Diageo

•Antrim – Flout Belfast

•Armagh – The Corner House Bar

•Cavan – Blossoms Tea Rooms & Garden Centre

•Derry – Brøn Cafe Bar and Restaurant

•Donegal – The Bluestack Shack

•Down – Frae

•Fermanagh – The Giddy Box

•Tyrone – The Millstonebar and Restaurant

•Monaghan – The Hive

Free From

•Antrim – Home

•Armagh – The Portmor

•Cavan – Chapter One Food & Living

•Derry – Cedar Restaurant

•Donegal – Chandpur Restaurant

•Down – The Smugglers Table

•Fermanagh – Milly’s Restaurant

•Tyrone – The Tailor’s House

•Monaghan – The Hive

Best Emerging Irish Cuisine Sponsored by FBD Insurance

•Antrim – Blank

•Armagh – Clenaghans Restaurant

•Cavan – People’s Restaurant

•Derry – The Sooty Olive

•Donegal – Narrow Quarter

•Down – The Cuan

•Fermanagh – Finn Lough

•Tyrone – The Banks Restaurant

•Monaghan – Wild Thyme Restaurant

Best Restaurant Manager Sponsored by Halcyon Group

•Antrim – Alain Kerloc’h, OX

•Armagh – James Scott, The Bawn Pantry

•Cavan – Ola Kavanagh, The Oak Room Restaurant

•Derry – James McKee, District 45

•Donegal – Orhan Enric, Harveys Point

•Down – Saul McConnell, Noble

•Fermanagh – Mario Breban-McDonald, Tully Mill Restaurant

•Tyrone – Ellen McCabrey, Chapter V

•Monaghan – Emma Aughey, The Squealing Pig

Best Wine Experience Sponsored by Bibendum Ireland

•Antrim – La Bottega

•Armagh – Wine and Brine

•Cavan – The Olde Post Inn

•Derry – Artis Restaurant by Phelim O’Hagan

•Donegal – Fisk

•Down – Noble

•Fermanagh – 28 At The Hollow

•Tyrone – The Wine Rack

•Monaghan – Snaffles Restaurant at Castle Leslie Estate

Best Café Sponsored by Illy

•Antrim – Neighbourhood

•Armagh – Caife Mhacha

•Cavan – Tillie’s Tea Rooms

•Derry – The Pickled Duck

•Donegal – Thyme Out

•Down – The Bearded Goat

•Fermanagh – The Toastery

•Tyrone – Moy Larder

•Monaghan – Screaming Bean Café

Best World Cuisine Sponsored by San Pellegrino

•Antrim – Bo Tree

•Armagh – Shapla

•Cavan – Chilli Lounge

•Derry – Mekong

•Donegal – Bella Dona

•Down – Tuk Tuk Asian Bistro

•Fermanagh – Taco Loco

•Tyrone – Tusk

•Monaghan – Eastern Balti

Best Newcomer Sponsored by Square

•Antrim – Roam

•Armagh – Sojourn Coffee

•Cavan – Fika 33

•Derry – Coupe

•Donegal – Curry Cottage

•Down – Joxer Holywood

•Fermanagh – The Dog and Duck Inn

•Tyrone – The Banks Restaurant

•Monaghan – The Castle Bar & Restaurant

Pub of the Year Sponsored by Peroni

•Antrim – John Hewitt

•Armagh – Hole in the Wall

•Cavan – White’s Bar

•Derry – Sandinos

•Donegal – The Forge

•Down – Maghera Inn

•Fermanagh – Devenish Bar

•Tyrone – Tomneys Bar

•Monaghan – The Coachhouse & Olde Bar

Best Casual Dining Sponsored by Musgrave Marketplace

•Antrim – Edo

•Armagh – Sally McNally’s

•Cavan – The Oak Room Restaurant

•Derry – El Tapas Grá

•Donegal – Andersons Boathouse Restaurant and Accommodation

•Down – Frae

•Fermanagh – Dollakis

•Tyrone – Salleys Restaurant

•Monaghan – The Batch Loaf

Best Hotel & Guesthouse Restaurant Sponsored By Frylite

•Antrim – River Room Restaurant at Galgorm

•Armagh – Newforge House

•Cavan – MacNean House and Restaurant

•Derry – The Gown, Bishops Gate Hotel

•Donegal – Harveys Point

•Down – The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

•Fermanagh – Catalina Restaurant at Lough Erne

•Tyrone – The Sika 1888 @ The Cedar Country Hotel

•Monaghan – Snaffles Restaurant at Castle Leslie Estate

Best Customer Service Sponsored Provided by Dolmen

•Antrim – Blank

•Armagh – Newforge House

•Cavan – MacNean House and Restaurant

•Derry – Shipquay Restaurant

•Donegal – Rathmullan House

•Down – Brunel’s

•Fermanagh – Francos

•Tyrone – Oysters Restaurant

•Monaghan – Neighbourhood

Best Gastro Pub Sponsored by Worldpay from FIS

•Antrim – Deer’s Head

•Armagh – Digby’s Bar & Restaurant

•Cavan – Murph’s Gastro Pub

•Derry – Walled City Brewery

•Donegal – Olde Castle Bar

•Down – The Dirty Duck

•Fermanagh – Granny Annies

•Tyrone – The Brewer’s House

•Monaghan – Andy’s Bar & Restaurant

Best Chef Sponsored by BWG Food Service

•Antrim – Gareth McCaughey, The Muddlers Club

•Armagh – Chris McGowan, Wine and Brine

•Cavan – Carmel McGirr MacNean House and Restaurant

•Derry – Ian Orr, Browns Bonds Hill

•Donegal – Ciaran Sweeney, The Olde Glen Bar

•Down – Pearson Morris, Noble

•Fermanagh – Glen Wheeler, 28 At The Hollow

•Tyrone – Conor McCabrey, Chapter V

•Monaghan – Conor Mee, Courthouse Restaurant

Best Restaurant Sponsored by San Miguel

•Antrim – OX

•Armagh – Wine and Brine

•Cavan – MacNean House and Restaurant

•Derry – Browns Bonds Hill

•Donegal – The Olde Glen Bar

•Down – Noble

•Fermanagh – 28 At The Hollow

•Tyrone – Chapter V

•Monaghan – Courthouse Restaurant