The Oak Room took the award for Best Contemporary Cuisine.

Ulster regional Irish Restaurant Awards 2024 winners announced


COUNTY winners from across the region were announced yesterday at the Irish Restaurant Awards Ulster Regional Final 2024.

Firm foodie favourites like the Oakroom, Derragrra Inn, and the Chilli Lounge were amongst the 17 category winners for County Cavan at the awards bash which took place on Wednesday, April 10 in the Armagh City Hotel.

Over 800 restauranteurs attended the celebration of food and hospitality in Ulster on the night.

In total, this year’s Irish Restaurant Awards received over 160,000 public nominations for restaurants, cafés and other food services establishments across the country – the highest number yet. Nominations were made by the public through The Irish Times website, the Irish Restaurant Awards’ media partner.

Murph's Gastro Pub, Derragarra Inn picked up the award for Best Gastro Pub. Photo: Kevin McFeely | Paul SherwoodPhotography Photo by Kevin McFeely Paul Sherwood Photography

Once all regional events have been completed and county winners announced, Regional and All Ireland Winners – including in categories such as Best Restaurant and Best Chef – will be revealed at the All Ireland Awards Gala Dinner at the Clayton Hotel on Burlington Road, Dublin 4 in May.

Speaking at the event, President of the Restaurants Association of Ireland, Paul Lenehan, said: “We all see media reports day in and day out of how difficult it is to run a restaurant or café in Ireland today.

“But, in many ways, this is why it is more important than ever to take the time to reflect on all that makes Ulster’s culinary offering one of the best around.

Chilli Lounge won Best World Cuisine. Photo by Kevin mcFeely | Paul SherwoodPhotography Photo by Kevin McFeely Paul Sherwood Photography

“In particular, the Ulster Regional Irish Restaurant Awards provide an excellent platform to recognise the hard work and dedication of all of the talented restaurant, café, and food-led hospitality staff in the province.”

The list of this year’s county winners from Cavan and neighbouring Ulster counties:

Local Food Hero – Sponsored by Flo Gas

Cavan – Barry Crowe, Barry John Sausages

Fermanagh – Mark Edwards, Enniskillen Taste Experience

Monaghan – Jen Gonnelly, Monaghan Taste Club

Innovator of the Year – Sponsored by Diageo

Cavan – The Castle Sports & Gastro Bar Belturbet

Fermanagh – Franco’s

Monaghan – Screaming Bean Cafe

Best Sustainable Practices – Sponsored by The Findlater Group

Cavan – Hawthorn Lodge B&B, Belturbet

Fermanagh – Tully Mill Restaurant

Monaghan – The Hive

Best World Cuisine – Sponsored by San Pellegrino

Cavan – Chilli Lounge

Fermanagh – Kamal Mahal Enniskillen

Monaghan – Monaghan Spice

Best Café – Sponsored by Illy

Cavan – Latte Da

Fermanagh – The Bees Knees Cafe

Monaghan – The Raglan Road Tearooms

Best Customer Service – Sponsored by Provided by Dolmen

Cavan – Setanta Restaurant at The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club

Fermanagh – Franco’s

Monaghan – Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa

Best Wine Experience – Sponsored by Bibendum

Cavan – The Olde Post Inn

Fermanagh – Catalina Restaurant at Lough Erne Resort

Monaghan – Snaffles Restaurant at Castle Leslie Estate

Best Newcomer – Sponsored by Square

Cavan – Silvie’s Coffee Stop

Fermanagh – Bigfoot Spuds

Monaghan – Blayney Bistro

Best Contemporary Irish Cuisine – Sponsored by FBD Insurance

Cavan – The Oak Room

Fermanagh – 28 At the Hollow

Monaghan – Wild Thyme Restaurant

Best Gastropub – Sponsored by Molson Coors

Cavan – Murph’s Gastro Pub, Derragarra Inn, Cavan

Fermanagh – The Taphouse Gastro Pub

Monaghan – Andy’s Bar & Restaurant

Best Casual Dining – Sponsored by Musgrave Marketplace

Cavan – Shades Bar & Grill

Fermanagh – Dollakis

Monaghan – The Squealing Pig Bar & Restaurant

Pub of the Year

Cavan – Matthews Pub Virginia

Fermanagh – Linnet Inn

Monaghan – Terry’s Bar

Employee Excellence Award – Sponsored by Peninsula

Cavan – Molly O’Reilly, Hard Boiled Egg Cafe

Fermanagh – Celeste Piers, The Toastery

Monaghan – Leanne Duffy, Westenra Arms Hotel

Best Hotel & Guesthouse Restaurant – Sponsored by Frylite

Cavan – The Courtroom Restaurant at Cabra Castle Hotel

Fermanagh – Catalina Restaurant at Lough Erne Resort

Monaghan – Snaffles Restaurant at Castle Leslie Estate

Best Restaurant Manager – Sponsored by Elavon

Cavan – Lynda Boylan, The Courtroom Restaurant at Cabra Castle Hotel

Fermanagh – Norman Coalter, Horseshoe & Saddlers

Monaghan – Stephen Treanor, Neighbourhood

Best Chef – Sponsored by BWG Food Service

Cavan – Garret Galligan, The Olde Post Inn

Fermanagh – Stephen Holland, Catalina Restaurant at Lough Erne Resort

Monaghan – Karl Breen, Wild Thyme Restaurant

Best Restaurant – Sponsored by San Miguel

Cavan – Macnean House & Restaurant

Fermanagh – 28 At the Hollow

Monaghan – Courthouse Restaurant