All set for Anglo-Celt Sports Awards tonight

Story by Paul Fitzpatrick

Friday, 8th February, 2019 12:51pm

All set for Anglo-Celt Sports Awards tonight

Catherina McKiernan is to be inducted into our Hall of Fame tonight.

All roads lead to the Cavan Crystal Hotel tonight (Friday, February 8) for the fifth annual Anglo-Celt Sports awards.

A huge crowd is expected at the Cavan Town venue for the annual sporting showpiece, which honours the best individuals and teams on the local sporting scene over the past 12 months.

The highlights of the night will be the announcement of the Overall and Young Sports Star of the Year awards, plus the Outstanding Achivement and Team of the Year. 

Also honoured on the night will be Club of the Year (Crosserlough GAC), PRO of the Year (Damian O'Reilly, Ballinagh GFC) and, of course, the Hall of Fame (Catherina McKiernan).

Don't forget to check out our Facebook page for live video during the event.



The Readers’ Choice award is chosen from the 12 monthly winners and is an opportunity for our readers and members of the public to have thier say.
The winner of the Readers’ Choice award will receive a year’s membership to Zest Health and Fitness Club at the Cavan Crystal Hotel.

Voting for the Readers’ Choice award ended yesterday.

This year, everyone who votes will enter a draw to win a month’s free membership to Zest Health and Fitness too!

The winner of this prestigious award is chosen from the 12 monthly winners.

Team of the Year: Loreto College senior/junior football, Lurgan ladies, Castlerahan senior football

Club of the Year: Crosserlough GAC

Outstanding achievement: Peter Doyle, Emmet Martin, William and Martin McGibney (Scór), Bill Noble (golf), Ferdia Donohoe (athletics), Mick Flynn (ladies football), Erne Eagles (rounders), St Pat’s football

Young Sports Star: Ciara Tolan (basketball), Oisin Kiernan (rugby), Casey Mulvey (athletics/basketball), Niamh Keenaghan/Muireann Cusack/Elaine Brady (Ladies football), Cormac O’Reilly (Mullahoran football), Leo Doyle (cycling), Oisin McCorry (athletics)

PRO of the Year: Damian O’Reilly (Ballinagh GFC)

Hall of Fame: Catherina McKiernan

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus