Former TD Margaret Conlon has pulled out of the Fianna Fail general election race.

Conlon and O'Hanlon pull out of FF election race

Former Fianna Fail TD Margaret Conlon and Monahgan's Cllr PJ O’Hanlon have both dropped out of the General Election race.
Party Honorary Secretary Conlon, however, “will maintain an active role in the party as a valued member of the Ard Comhairle and local activist”, say the party.
Conlon, who is a sitting member of the constituency committee, says that “after weeks of careful consideration, and due to a range of personal and professional commitments, I have decided to withdraw my name from the General Election selection process”.
“My decision follows a series of discussions with my family, friends and Fianna Fáil members and is not one that I have taken lightly,” she said. “I will remain fully engaged with the General Election preparations and look forward to participating in a robust and lively campaign along with candidates across Cavan and Monaghan.
“I want to thank Fianna Fáil members across the constituency, and the Lough Egish cumann for nominating me. It is a great honour and I am grateful to them for their support and for the faith they have placed in me.'

Most important election
“The upcoming election will be the most important in Ireland’s history and will provide people in this constituency with an opportunity to hold this regressive Government to account. Fianna Fáil will be fighting this election on the principles of fairness and equality and we have already begun a vigorous campaign at local, regional and national level.
“My role as Honorary Secretary keeps me at the heart of the Fianna Fáil organisation and reaffirms my commitment to the party. I intend to remain an active member throughout the General Election campaign and will be rowing in behind the candidates selected in Cavan-Monaghan. An exciting campaign lies ahead, and I look forward to playing my part now, and into the future,” she said.

It leaves the December 1 selection convention in the Hotel Kilmore with four remaining hopefuls: sitting TD Brendan Smith and Cllr Niamh Smyth in Cavan and Monaghan's Cllr Robbie Gallagher and Cllr Seamus Coyle.