Deputy Niamh Smyth's former council seat will be filled tonight by one of four FFers.

Four in running for FF's co-option seat, tonight

There are now four candidates for the vacant seat on the Cavan County Council created by the election of now Fianna Fail Deputy Niamh Smyth.

Former Cootehill Town Councillor Don Smith; former Chairman of Cavan County Council Francis McDermott; Castletara native Eamonn O’Reilly; Knockbride native Niall Smith; Bailieborough's PJ Barry and party activist and recruitment officer with Bailieborough Fianna Fail Cumann Sarah O’Reilly had been the six candidates in the running for the seat.

The Celt understands that, as of last night, at a mini-convention meeting Niall Smith and PJ Barry, are no longer contenders.

Voting will open for Fianna Fáil members in the Bailieborough-Cootehill Municipal District between 6-8pm on tonight at Gallonray House Community Centre with the convention underway at 8pm.

More from this Topic