Three All-Stars confirmed for Cavan

GAA news

The news that Cavan supporters were hoping for has arrived after it was confirmed this morning that the county has picked up three PWC All-Stars for 2020.

Raymond Galligan (goalkeeper), Padraig Faulkner (full-back) and Thomas Galligan (midfield) were all honoured as Cavan picked up the second highest representation on the team after All-Ireland champions Dublin (nine), with Mayo landing two awards and Tipperary one.

Raymond Galligan, the Cavan captain, was superb all through the campaign; his match-winning free against Monaghan is already being recalled as one of the most iconic Cavan scores but his assured kick-outs and spectacular saves spoke of his player at the absolute top of his game.

Padraig Faulkner’s assured defending throughout the championship was key to Cavan’s run to the last four. He also came up with key scores at times and was a general pillar of strength at the back, affirming himself as one of the very best defenders in the country.

Thomas Galligan’s impact on matches was extraordinary. When Cavan needed a big play – a catch, a driving run or a score – the big 24-year-old always seemed to come up trumps and his award is also richly deserved.

It is a special day also for the players’ respective clubs. The Galligan cousins line out for Lacken Celtic while Faulkner is a member of a successful footballing clan from the famed Kingscourt Stars.

It is believed also that defender Ciaran Brady had significant support among the selectors and can count himself unfortunate to miss out.

The awards will be presented tomorrow night (Sat); there will be a 90-minute broadcast on RTE television.

Cavan have previously won just two All-Stars since the modern-day version of the scheme began in 1971; Ollie Brady (1978) and Dermot McCabe (1997).

More to follow.

PwC All-Stars Football 2020

(previous years selected in brackets)


Raymond Galligan (Cavan)


Oisín Mullin (Mayo)

Padraig Faulkner (Cavan)

Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) (2017, ’19)

James McCarthy (Dublin) (2014, ’17, ’18)

John Small (Dublin)

Eoin Murchan (Dublin)


Brian Fenton (Dublin) (2015, ’16, ’18, ’19)

Thomas Galligan (Cavan)


Niall Scully (Dublin)

Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin) (2015, ’16, ’18)

Con O’Callaghan (Dublin) (2017, ’19)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) (2014)

Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)

Dean Rock (Dublin) (2016, ’17)

More from this Topic