Thomas Duffy at his family's Edenburt farm.

Duffy aims to be a strong voice for Europe's young farmers

RAMOR Former Macra president elected vice president of CEJA

A Virginia man has been elected to a senior position on the European representative body for youngfarmers.

Having only recently handed over the reins as president of Macra na Feirme, Thomas Duffy has been elected a Vice President at today’s European council of young farmers (CEJA) online general assembly.

“A huge congratulations to Thomas on his election to the position of CEJA Vice President," said Macra na Feirme National President John Keane.

“Thomas continues Macra's proud involvement in CEJA over many decades. More recently Macra has had a strong voice at CEJA with outgoing VP Sean Finan and before Sean, former Macra President and former CEJA President Alan Jagoe.”

Macra na Feirme would also like to commend outgoing Vice President Sean Finan on serving four years on the CEJA board, especially through recent Covid-19 challenges.

On his new appointment Thomas Duffy, said: “It’s an honour to be elected CEJA Vice President and to deliver for young farmers from Ireland and across Europe. These are challenging times and the organisations that make up CEJA will need to be empowered so a strong voice for agriculture is heard throughout Europe as we move forward with CAP.”

Thomas Duffy recently completed his term as Macra na Feirme National President in May this year. Macra na Feirme’s involvement at European level is supported by IFAC Accountants.

“We are delighted that IFAC Accountants have been our partner supporting our young farmer development groups and European participation in CEJA for the past ten years. Without IFAC’s valuable support, Macra na Feirme could not represent and advocate so strongly on behalf of young farmers at European level” said Keane.

“Thomas has shown incredible leadership in his time as Macra President and we have no doubt that he will be a great leader at EU level representing the interests of European young farmers” concluded Keane.

Former Macra na Feirme Presidents Seumas O’Brien, Carlow and Laurance Fallon, Roscommon and Joe Healy, Galway, along with Alan Jagoe and Sean Finan are among former Macra na Feirme presidents to serve at the highest levels of CEJA as either President or Vice-President.

The General Assembly elects a President and four Vice Presidents from among its members, each of a different nationality. Macra na Feirme congratulates everyone elected.