The Championship winners (from left): Sean Lillis from Greystones Yacht Club and Monica Schaefer Helm receiving the championship trophy from Jim Brady, Lakeside Manor Hotel.

Buoyant mood at Ramor regatta

The Irish National Wayfarer Championships Regatta was hosted by the Ramor Water Sports Club last weekend in a further sign of normality’s gradual return.

Competitors came from near and far with vessels from seven counties represented: Cavan, Meath, Down, Dublin, Clare, Wexford and Wicklow.

The early racing took place in light winds, with four races staged over two courses. With only one point separating first and second place after Saturday’s racing, the final three races on Sunday were run in stronger wind conditions, with significant wind shifts.

The championship was won by Monica Schaefer Helm, with Sean Lillis Crew from Greystones Yacht Club in Co Wicklow. Monica has now won this series an incredible five times.

Second place was taken by Henry O’Freil Helm with Elaine Vogan Crew, from East Down Yacht Club (EDYC) in County Down, two time Irish National Champion.

Third went to John Turner Helm and Barrie Owen crew from Ramor Watersports Club, Virginia. John Turner was Irish National Champion 2019/2020.

“We also staged our own Keelboat series regatta over the same weekend with first place after two days in challenging conditions Nigel Dale Helm and Terry O’Shea Crew in Catalina ‘Morning Haze’ and second place Declan Goodhall in a Seawych,” revealed John Wilson, chairman of the Ramor Water Sports Club.

John thanked sponsors Hartley Boats and Craft Insure. He also thanked Cavan Sports Partnership for their generosity and support to the Ramor Water Sports Club.

He also expressed an extra special thank you to the Lakeside Manor Hotel for its sponsorship and, in particular, proprietor Jim Brady, who presented the winning cup.

“Without the hard work over the years of Jim Brady, there would not be a regatta today on Lough Ramor – so a big thank you to Jim,” said John.