Pictured in Teagasc Moorepark, Fermoy, Co Cork at the Grassland Farmer of the Year Awards 2020 are Minister Charlie McConalogue, Grassland Merit Award Winners David & Rachel Brady, Liam Herlihy, Teagasc , Bryan Doocey, AIB, Padraig Walshe, FBD Insurance, Dr Pat Dillon, Teagasc, John O'Loughlin, Grassland Agro, & Aidan Brennan, Irish Farmers Journal. Photo O'Gorman Photography.

Stradone farmers amongst the Grassland winners

The winners of the Grassland Farmer of the Year 2020 competition were presented with their awards by the Minister for Agriculture Charlie McConalogue.

The 2020 awards event had been rescheduled to this year due to Covid restrictions.

David and Rachel Brady of Stradone travelled to Teagasc Moorepark last week to receive the Grassland Merit Award. The Overall Winner, and Grassland Farmer of the Year 2020 was Caroline Walsh, Ballinascarthy, County Cork.

The competition recognises the top grassland farmers in the country who are growing and utilising more grass on their farms. The awards are supported by the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine with an overall prize fund of €30,000.

Speaking at the event, Minister Charlie McConalogue congratulated all the finalists on their grassland management: “As finalists you are joining a group of top class grassland farmers, and I would particularly like to congratulate Caroline Walsh on winning the overall Grassland Farmer of the Year Award. It’s an achievement you can be really proud of. “