Four Cavan schools added to Hot School Meals Programme

Four national schools in County Cavan have been added to the Hot School Meals Programme in an extension of the scheme nationwide.

Minister for Social Protection, Heather Humphreys TD, confirmed this morning that five additional DEIS schools in Cavan and Monaghan are to be invited to join the programme.

The decision means that almost 400 students across the five schools will be able to avail of a hot meal during the school day.

The fou schools in Cavan are: St Patrick’s National School and Fairgreen National School in Belturbet, Kilnaleck Mixed National School and Scoil Naisiunta Mhuire in Swanlinbar.

Meanwhile, Castleblayney Convent National School in Monaghan will also be invited to join the Hot School Meals Programme.

The schools are among 81 nationwide added to the Programme by the Minister today.

The schools being invited to participate are currently availing of the cold lunch option under the School Meals Programme.

Making today’s announcement, Minister Humphreys said: “This €3 million investment, which I secured as part of the Budget, means we can significantly expand the programme to benefit up to 16,000 primary school pupils nationwide who were previously availing of the cold lunch option.

“Receiving a hot meal in the middle of the day is so important for nutrition but also for a child’s mental and physical wellbeing.

“It also leads to better educational outcomes and an improvement in the overall wellbeing of our children.

“As Minister, I am delighted to see this programme extended so that thousands more children and their families can benefit.”

The Hot School Meals Programme was initially launched on a pilot basis in 2019, serving 37 schools and some 6,600 primary school pupils.

The latest extension means that over 55,000 primary school pupils will now benefit from a hot meal each day.

“I hope that we can see further progress in the coming months that will result in future expansions of this really important programme once again,” said the Minister.