Remaining seats take shape as Fitzpatrick anticipates he's losing out

It seems the election for Bailieborough Cootehill electoral area has reached its denouement as Fianna Fáil's Aiden Fitzpatrick has accepted he will not gain enough transfers from Paddy McDonald's transfers to remain in the top six.

It's fully expected that McDonald's vote would transfer largely to his party colleague Stiofán Conaty. The remaining vote looks set to stay loyal to Bailieborough meaning that newcomer Niall Smith- who has rich Fianna Fail family heritage - will take a seat in the chamber alongside Val Smith (FG) and Clifford Kelly (FF).

We still have the formalities to go through to confirm what everyone takes to be fact in Cavan Leisure Centre.