We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Anglo Celt website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Changes at MD top spot

Wednesday, 13th June, 2018 3:53pm

Changes at MD top spot

Winston Bennett Philip Brady.jpg

This is the time of the year when the changing of the guard takes place in the local authority and municipal districts across the county. Bailieborough-Cootehill Municipal District, Ballyjamesduff Municipal District have appointed their Cathaoirleach, with Cavan-Belturbet Municipal District yet to make their announcment.

On Wednesday afternoon Ballyjamesduff MD held their monthly meeting in Killydoon with the AGM of the authority taking place after. At that AGM Fine Gael's Winston Bennett was formally announced as the Cathaoirleach. Cllr Bennett replaces the outgoing Phlip Brady (FF).

The previous day at the Bailieborough-Cootehill MD AGM Cllr Val Smith was elected the new chairman for the coming twelve months, taking over from the outgoing Chairman Clifford Kelly.

In the main chamber of Cavan County Council Fine Gael's Madeleine Argue was elected Cathaoirleach for the coming year. She succeeds Sinn Féin's Paddy McDonald in the role.

The top spot at the Cavan-Belturbet Municipal District will be decided at their AGM in July.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus