We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Anglo Celt website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Five changes for Cavan team to face Wicklow

Friday, 8th June, 2018 3:49pm

Five changes for Cavan team to face Wicklow

Dara McVeety makes a welcome to return to the Cavan team to face Wicklow.jpg

Five changes have been made to the Cavan team which lined out against Donegal in the Championship opener three weeks ago as Mattie McGleenan's team face Wicklow Saturday's All Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifier Rd 1 game. 

James Farrelly, Martin Reilly, Sean McCormack, Dara McVeety and Sean Johnston have all been named to start in Aughrim's Joule Park (throw-in 6pm). 

Dara McVeety and Martin Reilly had missed the previous match due to hamstring injuries.  

Panel v Wicklow
1. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)
2. Killian Brady (Mullahoran)
3. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
4. Enda Flanagan (Castlerahan)
5. Ciaran Brady (Arvagh)
6. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)
7. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
8. Sean McCormack (Ballyhaise)
9. Killian Clarke (Shercock)
10. Bryan Magee (Cuchulainns)
11. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
12. Oisin Kiernan (Castlerahan)
13. Caoimhin O'Reilly (Butlersbridge)
14. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)
15. Sean Johnston (Cavan Gaels)

16. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)
17. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
18. Conor Bradley (Ramor United)
19. Adrian Cole (Ramor United)
20. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)
21. Jack Wharton (Cornafean)
22. Dan Wharton (Cornafean)
23. Dónal Monahan (Drumlane)
24. David Brady (Ballyhaise)
25. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)
26. Paul Gilcreest (Lavey)

Meanwhile John Evans starting team shows just one personnel change from their heavy defeat to Dublin. Paul Merrigan is back in the full back line with Ciaran Hyland out of the match day squad with injury. Eoin Murtagh switches across to the other corner with Ross O'Brien at full back with the reliable and accurate Mark Jackson in goal once again.
The half back line and midfield remain the same but in the forwards Darren Hayden and Theo Smyth switch wings and John McGrath goes to full forward with Seanie Furlong in the corner.

1. Mark Jackson Baltinglass Gaa
2.. Eoin Murtagh Dunlavin Gaa Club
3. Ross O'Brien Rathnew GAA 1885
4. Paul Merrigan Rathnew
5. John Crowe St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow Town
6. Dean Healy St Patricks
7. Saoirse Kearon Avondale Gaa
8. Rory Finn Kiltegan Gaa
9. James Stafford Rathnew 
10.Theo Smyth Rathnew
11. Kevin Murphy Baltinglass
12. Darren Hayden Éire Óg Greystones GAA Club
13. Sean Furlong(Capt) Kiltegan
14. John McGrath Baltinglass
15. Mark Kenny Ballymanus Billy

Subs: Robert Lambert Aughrim GAA Club, Brendan Kennedy An Tóchar GAA Club, Cathal Magee Bray Emmets GAA Club
Pat Burke Baltinglass, Padraig O'Toole Kiltegan, 
Conor Ffrench St Patricks, Jamie Snell Rathnew, Dara Fitzgerald Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney GAA Club Agb Pro, 
PJ O'Keefe Hollywood GAA, Dan Keane Éire Óg Greystones GAA Club, Chris Heaslip Baltinglass.


Ticket Information

Adult: €15.00; Juvenile (U16): €5.00; Student/OAP: €10.00 available at the venue on the day with Valid ID only. Season Ticket Holder: €10. This is an unreserved seating fixture.

Tickets available from usual outlets, Kingspan Breffni Office 049 4361032 from 10am to 6pm Mon - Fri, online and selected Centra and SuperValu outlets. 

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus