Fianna Fail has selected Bailieborough's Sarah O'Reilly (above) for the seat left vacant by Deputy Niamh Smyth on Cavan County Council.

New councillor selected for FF seat

A new councillor has been selected for Cavan County Council after Deputy Niamh Smyth's election to the Dail last month.

Last night, Fianna Fail appointed their recruitment officer for the Bailieborough Municipal District, Sarah O'Reilly, which will see the town retaining their party seat in the area.

Six candidates had put their name forward for the co-option process that was held in Cootehill's Gallonray House.

Former Cootehill Town Councillor Don Smith; former Chairman of Cavan County Council Francis McDermott; Ballyhaise native Eamonn O’Reilly; Knockbride native Niall Smith; Bailieborough's PJ Barry and O’Reilly had all been the six candidates in the running for the seat.

However, before the co-option process, Niall Smith, PJ Barry and Eamonn O'Reilly all withdrew.

The now councillor-in-waiting and Lisnalea native O'Reilly beat Smith and McDermott on the first count, passing the quota, to be selected by the party.

She will be formally co-opted by the council in chambers this afternoon at 5.30pm at a special meeting of the council.

More from this Topic