Live Election Blog 2019: Day 2

Sunday, 26th May, 2019 9:48am

Live Election Blog 2019: Day 2


The Anglo-Celt news team will be bringing you update from the Cavan count centre on Day 2 of the count as candidates are elected or eliminated in their respective electoral areas. We will also be bringing you Facebook Live video coverage of the local election count announcements from the sports centre

19:11: It's all over folks - the makeup of Cavan County Council is now FF (8), FG (7), SF (1), Aontú (1), Independent (1).

Check out Wednesday's Anglo-Celt for full reports, reactions, tallies, photographs and analysis.

And so it ends for another five years

19:01: High drama as last seats filled in Bailieborough Cootehill

18:41: Carmel Brady (FG) elected in Bailieborough Cootehill; the following candidates are elected without reaching the quota Clifford Kelly (FF), Aiden Fitzpatrick (FF) and Paddy McDonald (SF). The latter is the only Sinn Féin candidate to have won a seat on Cavan County Council

18:30: Five minute warning for eighth count in the Bailieborough Cootehill area.

17:55: Sinn Féin's director of elections in Cavan, General Election candidate and former Cllr Pauline Tully, speaks to Seamus Enright about the party's disappointing performance

17:53: Read: Another shocker for Sinn Féin in Cavan Belturbet

17:49: Count seven in Bailieborough Cootehill sees  Val Smith (FG) elected; Bridget Boyle (SF) has been eliminated and her 938 votes will now be distributed

17:43: Five minute warning for the announcement of the seventh count in Bailieborough Cootehill.

17:18: Sinn Féin's Noel Connell speaks to Seamus Enright about losing his seat in Ballyjamesduff


17:16: It's a wrap in Ballyjamesduff and time to celebrate in style

16:52: Count six in Bailieborough Cootehill sees Shirley Hall (FG) eliminated and her votes of 880 is to be redistributed

16:30: Sean Smith (FF), Peter McVitty (FG) both elected without reaching the quota on the seven count in Cavan Belturbet; sitting Sinn Féin councillor Damien Brady has become the third Sinn Féin councillor of the day to lose a seat on Cavan County Council with none elected so far. Word on the ground is a recount may be called for this area.

16:18: A spot of jiving to celebrate? Shir why not! Craig Lovett celebrates taking a seat in Ballyjamesduff at the expense of Sinn Féin's Noel Connell


16:11: Fifth and final count in Ballyjamesduff– Winston Bennett (FG) and Craig Lovett (FF) both elected; Philip Brady also elected without reaching the quota; Sinn Féin’s Noel Connell has lost his seat.


15:51: We're having some tech problems with our blog; bear with us

15:47: The fifth count from Bailieboro Cootehill sees Gerry Murray (FF) eliminated

15:11: Huge celebrations as Fay and Argue make it through

13:14: Downey the first casualty of the day



9:22am: And we’re off again!

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus