We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Anglo Celt website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


New councillor selected for FF seat

Story by Paul Neilan

Tuesday, 15th March, 2016 9:17am

New councillor selected for FF seat

Fianna Fail has selected Bailieborough's Sarah O'Reilly (above) for the seat left vacant by Deputy Niamh Smyth on Cavan County Council.

A new councillor has been selected for Cavan County Council after Deputy Niamh Smyth's election to the Dail last month.

Last night, Fianna Fail appointed their recruitment officer for the Bailieborough Municipal District, Sarah O'Reilly, which will see the town retaining their party seat in the area.

Six candidates had put their name forward for the co-option process that was held in Cootehill's Gallonray House.

Former Cootehill Town Councillor Don Smith; former Chairman of Cavan County Council Francis McDermott; Ballyhaise native Eamonn O’Reilly; Knockbride native Niall Smith; Bailieborough's PJ Barry and O’Reilly had all been the six candidates in the running for the seat.

However, before the co-option process, Niall Smith, PJ Barry and Eamonn O'Reilly all withdrew.

The now councillor-in-waiting and Lisnalea native O'Reilly beat Smith and McDermott on the first count, passing the quota, to be selected by the party.

She will be formally co-opted by the council in chambers this afternoon at 5.30pm at a special meeting of the council.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus